Wessex Motor Club About the Championships


Scoring for the championship is based on your finishing position in the championship rounds. 10 points are awarded for first place, then 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 1, 1, etc - i.e. at least one point just for finishing on time. Final championship positions are determined from the best six scores from the first eight championship rounds you compete in. DNFs (Did Not Finish) and OTLs (Over Time Limit) count as starts. In the event of a tie, most wins will count, then most second places, third places etc in the relevant Championship. If the crew that wins the Plotters' Cup also finishes on the highest RUC score, the RUC Newcomer's Shield will be awarded to the next crew in that Championship.

Championship Eligibility

The RUC Newcomers' Shield championship is open to novice crews only. A novice crew is one in which neither member has competed in any OS map-based motorsport event prior to the start of the current PC season, with the exception that the crew may have taken part in the previous summer's Summer Scatter and Summer 'Silly.' Each individual in an RUC-eligible crew may compete in one event with a non-eligible crew member (they don't score RUC points in that event, though), and then return to the RUC championship. Once an individual has competed in a non-eligible crew twice, that individual is no longer eligible for the RUC championship. The idea is that the championship is open only to complete novice crews, and that members of those crews cannot 'train up' by crewing repeatedly with non-eligible competitors.

The PC championship is open to any crew where both the driver and navigator are full-time students at either the University of Southampton or Southampton Solent University. All members must also be members of the AU.